Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Card # 155 Now Officially Belongs to...

Last week, I mentioned that Topps reserved six cards for the AL and NL award winners that were going to be announced this week. Now we know who gets card # 155.

Congratulations to Zack Greinke of the Kansas City Royals for winning the American League Cy Young Award. While he was considered the favorite to win the award, he had some stiff competition, especially with three 19 game winners in the AL.

Card #155 will now be of Greinke, the Royals' All-Star ace who led the AL with a 2.16 ERA to go with a 16-8 record, (134 points, 25 first-place votes), who beat out a field that included Felix Hernandez of the Mariners (80, 2), Justin Verlander of the Tigers (14, 1), CC Sabathia of the Yankees (13 points), and Roy Halladay of the Blue Jays (11).

Let the debates continue. Did your guy win???


JayBee Anama

No comments: