Thursday, July 8, 2010

Votto and Swisher win the Final Man Vote!!!

It was "Bran-Torino" last year. This time, it's "Swishotto??!"

Last year, Brandon Inge of the Tigers and Shane Victorino of the Phillies won the Final Man Vote, sending both men, forever linked as "Bran-torino" to the All-Star Game. This year, while there were supposedly many alliances between the ten men vying for the two final spots on each All-Star team (including "Third Base Ticket" of Michael Young and Ryan Zimmerman, the Rox and (White) Sox featuring Carlos Gonzalez and Paul Konerko), all fell to "Swishotto???"

The fans have voted, and did so in record numbers. Thanks to the more than 23.5 million fans combined, both Joey Votto of the Cincinnati Reds and Nick Swisher of the New York Yankees are going to the All-Star Game!!!

In what has to be the tightest race since the Final Man balloting began nine years ago, Swisher's 9.8 million votes were just enough to pull away from runners up Kevin Youkilis and Paul Konerko of the Red Sox and White Sox respectively. And with 13.7 million votes, Votto led the way from start to finish to earn his spot on the roster, holding off Ryan Zimmerman.

Votto now joins fellow Reds All-Stars Arthur Rhodes, Brandon Phillips, and Scott Rolen to the squad. Swisher is now the eighth Yankee named to the All-Star team, joining Robinson Cano, Derek Jeter, Alex Rodriguez, Phil Hughes, Andy Pettitte, CC Sabathia, and Mariano Rivera.


JayBee Anama

P.S. Swishotto??? Really??? jba

No comments: