Monday, October 5, 2009

Who Will Be Named to Topps 2009 All-Star Rookie Team?

It's finally the end of the MLB season. And before the playoffs (or maybe a game or two after) start, the Topps Company will be sending to the 30 MLB managers a ballot that will determine who will get voted into the 2009 Topps All-Star Rookie Team, and will get that lovely golden trophy added to their 2010 Topps baseball cards (unless they forget to put the cup on a card like Alexei Ramirez...or hurriedly photoshop one on like with Mike Aviles...I digress...)

So who's going to be named to the ASR team? Here are my predictions, and if you think you can outguess me, you could win a complete 150-card set of 2005 Topps Rookie Cup (contest rules here...):
  • 1B: Travis Ishikawa, San Francisco Giants (.261 batting average, 9 HR, 39 RBI, 2008 stats)
  • 2B: Chris Getz, Chicago White Sox (.261, 2, 31)
  • 3B: Gordon Beckham, Chicago White Sox (.270, 14, 63)
  • SS: Elvis Andrus, Texas Rangers (.267, 6, 40, 33 stolen bases)
  • OF: Colby Rasmus, St. Louis Cardinals (.251, 16, 52)
  • OF: Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates (.286, 12, 54)
  • OF: Chris Coghlan, Florida Marlins (.321, 9, 47)
  • C: Matt Weiters, Baltimore Orioles (.288, 9, 43, might not even get a Topps card in 2010)
  • RHP: Andrew Bailey, Oakland Athletics (6-3, 1.84 ERA, 91 K's, 26 saves, first player who debuted it 2009 to go to All-Star Game)
  • LHP: J. A. Happ, Philadelphia Phillies (12-4, 2.93 ERA, 119 K's)
For sure there will be players like Garrett Jones of the Pirates (who could get on the team as a "DH" of sorts if he gets enough votes between first base and outfield, but not enough to win either outright a la Eddie Murray), Tommy Hanson of the Braves, Rick Porcello of the Tigers, Ricky Romero of the Blue Jays, Casey McGehee of the Brewers, Nolan Reimold of the Orioles, and others will have their votes (from either the MLB managers, or you the readers). Don't forget to send your picks to if you want to enter the contest. Good luck.

Let the debates begin!!!


JayBee Anama

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I like your picks. I think Tommy Hanson will be out Bailey. Garrett Jones should win at 1st.