Wednesday, January 8, 2014

This is It! The Hall of Fame Announcement is Today.

When the announcement is made today at 11:00 CST to let the world know who has been inducted into Baseball's Hall of Fame, I will be at the orthodontist because my daughter has an appointment.

But that doesn't mean I'll be out of the loop. I will have my laptop with me, and I'll be keeping tabs that way. Today, someone from this list of 36 players will be rewarded with the ultimate honor...enshrinement into the Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY.  For the final time, here is the list of players (with years on ballot and % of ballots in the 2013 election) being considered:

Moises Alou
Jeff Bagwell, 4th, 59.6%
Armando Benitez
Craig Biggio, 2nd, 68.2%
Barry Bonds, 2nd, 36.2%
Sean Casey
Roger Clemens, 2nd, 37.6%
Ray Durham
Eric Gagne
Tom Glavine
Luis Gonzalez
Jacque Jones
Todd Jones
Jeff Kent
Paul Lo Duca
Greg Maddux
Edgar Martinez, 5th, 35.9%
Don Mattingly, 14th, 13.2%
Fred McGriff, 5th, 20.7%
Mark McGwire, 8th, 16.9%
Jack Morris, 15th, 67.7%
Mike Mussina
Hideo Nomo
Rafael Palmeiro, 4th, 8.8%
Mike Piazza, 2nd, 57.8%
Tim Raines, 7th, 52.2%
Kenny Rogers
Curt Schilling, 2nd, 38.8%
Richie Sexson
Lee Smith, 12th, 47.8%
J.T. Snow
Sammy Sosa, 2nd, 12.5%
Frank Thomas
Mike Timlin
Alan Trammell, 13th, 33.6%
Larry Walker, 4th, 21.6%

After the ballots were counted last night, only two or three people know the results of the election.  Someone will be joining the managerial triumvirate of Bobby Cox, Tony LaRussa, and Joe Torre as part of the HOF Class of 2014. Stay tuned. This should be an interesting day to say the least.


JayBee Anama

No comments: