Friday, November 7, 2014

Who Will Be Named to Topps 2014 All-Star Rookie Team?

The contest deadline has past and I am no longer taking any entries for the big All-Star Rookie Team contest. I thank everyone who took time to participate. There were a lot of interesting choices amongst the field of participants, so I am wishing myself the best. This could get mighty expensive if I make enough mistakes.

By now, the Topps Company has already sent the 30 MLB managers a ballot that will determine who will get voted into the 2014 Topps All-Star Rookie Team, and will get that lovely gold trophy added to their 2015 Topps baseball cards. So without further ado, here are my picks for the 2014 Topps All-Star Rookie team. If you out-guessed me, participants who have already sent their entries to my e-mail address (and those who may have inadvertently left their picks in the comments) could win a complete 150-card set of 2005 Topps Rookie Cup (contest rules here):
  • 1B: Jose Abreu, CWS (145 G, 0.317, 36 HR, 107 RBI, 0.964 OPS, 3 SB)
  • 2B: Kolten Wong, STL (113 G, 0.249, 12 HR, 42 RBI, 0.68 OPS, 20 SB)
  • 3B: Nick Castellanos, DET (148 G, 0.259, 11 HR, 66 RBI, 0.7 OPS, 2 SB)
  • SS: Xander Bogaerts, BOS (144 G, 0.240, 12 HR, 46 RBI, 0.66 OPS, 2 SB)
  • OF: Billy Hamilton, CIN (152 G, 0.250, 6 HR, 48 RBI, 0.648 OPS, 56 SB)
  • OF: Kevin Kiermaier, TB (108 G, 0.263, 10 HR, 35 RBI, 0.765 OPS, 5 SB)
  • OF: George Springer, HOU (78 G, 0.231, 20 HR, 51 RBI, 0.804 OPS, 5 SB)
  • C: Travis d'Arnaud, NYM (108 G, 0.242, 13 HR, 41 RBI, 0.718 OPS, 1 SB)
  • RHSP: Matt Shoemaker, LAA (20 GS, 16-4, 3.04 ERA, 124 SO, 1.074 WHIP)
  • LHSP: Roenis Elias, SEA (29 GS, 10-12, 3.85 ERA, 143 SO, 1.314 WHIP)
  • RHRP: Dellin Betances, NYY (70 G, 5-0, 1.40 ERA, 135 SO, 0.778 WHIP, 1 SV)
For sure there will be players like Oscar Taveras of the Cardinals, Yangervis Solarte of the Padres, Brock Holt of the Red Sox, Gregory Polanco of the Pirates, and Jonathan Schoop of Orioles who will warrant consideration, as well as Jacob deGrom of the Mets, and Masahiro Tanaka of the Yankees, and others will have their votes (from either the MLB managers, or you the readers). I made these picks shortly before any e-mails were sent (scheduling it for today soon after the post announcing the contest).

Let the debates begin!!! And good luck to everybody. Now...we wait.


JayBee Anama


hiflew said...

I am posting my picks later today. We had nearly the exact same picks. I went with Danny Santana over Bogaerts and skipped the relief pitcher altogether. I'm surprised we were so similar just because this class of rookies was so diverse. Last year's team was fairly obvious in the choices, but I wouldn't be surprised to see several misses this season.

Unknown said...

I had 3 different picks. Here's my list since the contest is over:
C- T.D'Arnaud NYM
1B - J. Abreu CWS
2B - K. Wong STL
SS - D. Santana MIN
3B - B. Holt BOS
OF - B. Hamilton CIN
OF - G. Springer HOU
OF - E. Inciarte ARI
RHP - M. Shoemaker LAA
LHP - R. Elias SEA
RP - D. Betances NYY

Anonymous said...

The picks came out earlier and again this is what messes people up. Santana is a ss why on earth does he win the award for of?