Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Introducing Your 2011 NL Most Valuable Player...Most Competitive Field for the MVP

In recent years, Topps has reserved six cards within Series 1 for the AL and NL award winners that are being announced this week. Unfortunately, this year's preliminary checklist doesn't specify what numbers are being held for the them. 

On Monday, Justin Verlander was named the AL Most Valuable Player. Today, we know who won the award in the National League.

Congratulations to Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers for being named the National League's Most Valuable Player. Of the six major awards this week, the field for this award was very competitive and many of the runners-up made strong cases for themselves.  But in the end, it was Braun who takes the plaque (or trophy, or whatever they give the winner).  Although he didn't lead the league in any of the Triple Crown categories (.332 was good for second, 33 HR and 111 RBI's), he did lead the NL in other stats like slugging percentage (.597), and OPS (.994).

Braun becomes the first Brewer to win the MVP award since 1989 when Robin Yount took the prize home (and the Brewers were in the American League). He received 20 first-place votes (out of 32, for a total of 388 points).  In doing so, he beat a field that included Matt Kemp of the Dodgers (332, 10 first-place votes), Prince Fielder of the Brewers (229, 1), Justin Upton of the D-backs (214, 1), Albert Pujols of the Cardinals (166), reigning NL MVP Joey Votto of the Reds (135), Lance Berkman of the Cardinals (118), Troy Tulowitzki of the Rockies (69), teammates Roy Halladay (52) and Ryan Howard of the Phillies (39), Jose Reyes of the Mets (31), Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers (29), Shane Victorino of the Phillies (18), Ian Kennedy of the D-backs (16), Cliff Lee of the Phillies (12), Hunter Pence of the Astros/Phillies (10), Pablo Sandoval of the Giants (7), John Axford of the Brewers (7), Michael Morse of the Nationals (5), Carlos Beltran of the Mets/Giants (3), Miguel Montero of the D-backs (2), Yadier Molina of the Cardinals (2), Starlin Castro of the Cubs (1), NL Rookie of the Year Craig Kimbrel of the Braves (1), Carlos Ruiz of the Phillies (1), and Mike Stanton of the Marlins (1).

Braun becomes the 13th player to win both the NL Rookie of the Year award (2007) and MVP, the first since Ryan Howard.

Let the debates continue. Did your guy win???


JayBee Anama

No comments: